A Perfect Sunday before Memorial Day

Today was the day I took all of Josh’s dorm room bedding and my queen comforter to the laundromat.  My washer and dryer couldn’t have handled the volume.  I enjoyed doing this little task – it gave me time to read more of “War and Peace.”  I’m hoping I’ll finish the novel sometime in the next couple of years … 🙂

When I got home I went down to the basement to get some Diet Snapple to put into the fridge.  Buddy followed me because he wanted to go outside.  So I let him out and decided to sit with him for a few minutes.  And then I noticed all of the weeds and the edging that needed to be done.  I donned my garden gloves and grass trimmers and started clipping away.  It was hot and a bit humid.  I was sweating.

I got half a brown lawn bag full of weeds and grass clippings by the time I was done.  Buddy sat patiently by the door waiting to go inside and cool down.  As I carried him up the stairs (he’s getting older and has arthritis in his right front leg) I remembered the Snapple.  I finally got a few bottles in the fridge.

Then I listened to a song Jamie wants to learn for the Deer Creek Fiddler’s Convention and tried to learn the chords on the guitar.  And then I listened to “The Scarlet Tide” from the movie “Cold Mountain.”  It would be cool to play that song too.

I tackled a few things in the garage afterward, like taking the bottle holder off my bike (it’s too close when I dismount) and straightening some things up.  Then paying bills and listening to Lady Gaga songs on iTunes.  Sitting outside again with Buddy and taking more photos of the birds in the backyard.  The driving range with Jamie after he got off work.  Steaks on the grill.  A bottle of wine.  “Criminal Minds” marathon on A&E.

What a perfect day, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

