Just Checking In

Yesterday was Fathers Day.  My parents had a rib cookout with the family back home in Illinois.  I’ll find out on Sunday how everything went (it’s the day I usually talk to my mom and sister).  I’m sure it was great.  My dad is an excellent cook and exceptional with grilling.

Jamie’s out on the deck putting some new strings on my new-used hammered dulcimer – he’s replacing the low strings with wound strings to make it sound better.  He’s teaching me how to play.  I got the bug after the Deer Creek Fiddlers Convention a couple of weekends ago.  Now I can’t wait for the Music & Arts Festival at the Farm Museum the weekend of July 9-10.  David’s Dulcimers is supposed to bring a new stand that they’re holding for me.  It’s cherry and should match my dulcimer.  By the way, I named my hammered dulcimer Rohan (it’s got a red-stained top).  And my beautiful Martin did so well for me at the Convention that it finally gave me its name – Aiden.

I got an extremely wonderful surprise on Saturday that I can’t share with anyone (except for the few people who know about it) because it would probably get one of the involved parties in trouble.  Don’t you just love a mystery?

Josh is doing great with his dad in Atlanta.  He’s seeing what the working world is like – getting up early, getting home late – eat dinner, sleep, wake up, go to work, come home, eat sleep, get up … and on and on.

Other than this, not much is going on.  Work is really busy (budget season), I am constantly working in the yard on weekends (weeds never take a break), and I am already looking into what I play and/or sing at next year’s Fiddlers Convention.  A full life is a wonderful life.

Talk to me.

Leave a Reply

