Do You Believe in Ghosts?

Do ghosts exists?  Everyone has an opinion one way or another – yes, they believe; no, they don’t believe; maybe (they’re not sure and won’t commit one way or another).

I believe.

I’ve believed in ghosts since I was a kid.  I could blame my dad for that – he has always believed, and there were weekends when we’d traipse around Illinois driving from one old cemetery to the next.  I’m not really sure if he was looking for something specific or just looking for a specter.  But blame is not really what it’s all about – it’s about thanking him for opening the door to possibilities.

My parent’s house is haunted.  I’ve seen the ghost (thought it was my mom in the basement until I realized I had just seen her in the kitchen upstairs).  I’ve heard the bumps in the night.  My parents have experienced things disappearing for different lengths of time (days, weeks, months, years) and then suddenly reappearing as if they were never “lost”.  My parents used to host or attend seances trying to rid other homes of their unwanted visitors.

When you grow up with ghosts, you find that they’re not all that scary.  Okay, maybe sometimes they are.  But after a while you get used to them and they simply become a part of life.  Even so, that doesn’t stop me from screaming in the middle of the night if I wake up and the thing is in the room with me.

Jamie doesn’t believe in ghosts, or at least he doesn’t think there’s one in the house with us.  I’m not sure if Josh believes or not.  Belief in ghosts is not usually a topic of discussion when you’re at work or out at some function.  But it’s kind of interesting that when the subject does come up, people can have very strong opinions one way or another.  The funny thing is, if you say you don’t believe, it’s cool with everyone.  They don’t judge you.  However, if you say you do believe in ghosts, there are those that will look at you like you’re crazy.  So much for being open-minded!

Got to say it’s a beautiful day again today – sun shining, low 60’s – not bad for a November day in Maryland.  I’m thinking I’ll start a new category soon, something pertaining to the supernatural.  There’s a lot to talk about when it comes to things unseen.

Have a great Sunday!

Leave a Reply

