Legacy?

In 1971, at the end of the 8th grade school year, my home room teacher, Sister Mary Barbara, asked me a profound question that haunts me to this day.

She was a tall woman who looked like she bench pressed 100 lbs. every day.  Not masculine, but strapping.  A force to reckon with.  Sister Barbara and I had been discussing my future and what I wanted to be when I grew up.  I told her I was considering becoming a nun.  After all, I had been around nuns for the past eight years, even working in the convent cleaning floors and helping with other chores.

She smiled slightly and said, “Really?  I don’t see that in you.  I figured you say something like, scientist or journalist.  Not a nun.”  She shook her head.

And after a pause, she said, “What will your legacy be?”

To this day, forty years later, I am still trying to figure that out.

Leave a Reply

