Two Things

I went to my favorite mall last Friday to shop for my Dad’s Fathers Day present and to pickup a navy colored blouse. Two things.

And two things I noticed.

One, that it is ridiculously impossible to find a simple short sleeve navy blouse. Oh sure, you can find navy prints, navy t-shirts, dark blue pullovers, royal blue sweaters, and navy Polos … but good luck finding a simple dress blouse in navy. I don’t know if it’s because it’s summer or what, but I had to settle for a crew neck pullover. Not what I had in mind.

Two, there were no scents. I mean, except for the hair salon odors of hair spray, nail polish, and perms, I didn’t smell anything as I walked about the mall. No heavy perfumes on the females, no overwhelming deodorant smells, no baby powder scents on the babies. Nothing. Zip. Zilch. Nada.

Odd, don’t you think?

The department stores offer passer-bys the opportunity to try the latest craze in perfumes. Nothing noticeable as I wander through them! Surely someone has just come from a beauty salon or a diaper change? Nothing!

I didn’t know what to make of it and then finally decided that it must have been coincidental given the time of day I was meandering through the mall and the mix of people wandering around. Surely, it couldn’t be the start of a trend!

I purchased my Dad’s present and walked happily out of the mall with both items still pondering the lack of odors. And then I merged into the traffic on the Beltway, and all thoughts mingled with the awareness of everything going on around me. The cars, the exhaust, the road work. The mindlessness of having to drive further than you’d like to just to pickup a couple of things.

I’d rather be at home, in my backyard, smelling fresh cut grass and honeysuckle in the air. Noticing the things around me through their scents and chilling in my swinging chair. The perfect end to a summer day.

20130612-204245.jpg

Leave a Reply

