“What to do when it’s Your Turn”

I received copies of Seth Godin’s latest book, “What to do when it’s Your Turn” yesterday.  By the end of the evening I had finished reading it.  I highly recommend it.

Seth Godin has a way with words.  He has a way with getting his point across.  My takeaway after reading the book – and I emphasize that it’s my takeaway – is that I have to stop waiting for everything to be “perfect” before I tackle the things on my bucket list.  I’ve been waiting for “my turn” – for the feeling that the stars are perfectly aligned, that I’ve practiced as much as any human can practice, and that I will be received well when I finally take that plunge.  It doesn’t matter whether it’s the novel I want to publish or the songs I want to sing in front of a coffee house crowd.  It doesn’t matter if it’s giving the killer presentation at work that causes everyone to walk away nodding their head in agreement with what I had to say.  No matter what “it” is, I just have to do it and accept that I may win or I may not.

In reality, I’ll win either way (in spite of my hesitation).

Leave a Reply

